Gifted… Or not?

I am in the lookout for writing a book. But the problem is what to write? What is it that I want to say badly? How am I going to say it and say it for long enough that I am able to fill up at least 200 pages talking about it. What is it that takes my breath away!

I am still searching for it. And while I am doing that I keep reading about people coming up with books after books on their ideas of the world around them and they come up really fast. I am simply amazed at their speed. Really!! Like how fast are you guys!?

I don’t know a time when a Chetan Bhagat book or a Shashi Tharoor book is not in the way out to get published. And no idea then how do they find time to appear in so many talk shows and air their opinions on so many issues going on around via various mediums. Really! No idea. Especially when Tharoor is a mantri for heaven sakes! He must have so many other things to deal with apart from writing books. Well, I am not really into criticizing here but I definitely want to understand the pattern in this if there is any.

Are they really the ones with much more knowledge and grey matter or are they just like one of us with better resources? If it’s the resources which are the differentiator then there is so much here to fight for. Fight – not by proving nonsense as logic, not by applying quota politics where I somehow become deserving for something I did nothing to claim possession on, but – by trying and trying harder on a daily basis to get those resources so that I too become someone who matters, is heard and valued even when I am not making much sense sometimes.

But, what if it’s really that they are the ones who are gifted, and not just their lifestyles but their education and everything else that followed is a result of something they already are and these things just added to what was already there which is the cause of all that is different between them and the masses? Then what? Then is there still much left to fight for or to look forward to for someone like me who looks upto these people? Someone who wants to follow in their footsteps and be able to be somewhere closer to who they are, what about us? Can we somehow work hard and become who we would like ourselves to be or is it that the life was doomed the day we were born – ungifted and just plain ordinary?

Leave a comment